IPL 2023 Centuries: 11 Centuries In One Season For First Time In IPL League Matches, Know Stats | leader

3 minutes, 8 seconds Read
Spread the love


Leaders Online Desk : IPL 2023 Centuries : The 16th season of IPL has been special in many ways and the tournament has ended with a total of 11 centuries. Interestingly, no IPL season has seen more than 8 centuries so far. Star batsmen Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill have done a remarkable feat of reaching three-figure scores 2-2 times this season. Let’s know about batsmen who will score century in IPL 2023.

Brooke scored his first century of the season

First century of the season was scored by Sunriders Hyderabad (SRH) batsman Harry Brook. He played a memorable knock against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the 19th match of the league. This English batsman hit 100 runs off 55 balls. This century helped Hyderabad to a huge total (228/4) and the team won the match by 23 runs.

Venkatesh scored his second century for KKR after 15 years

After a poor performance last season, KKR’s Venkatesh Iyer made a brilliant comeback in IPL 2023. The batsman scored his maiden IPL century against Mumbai Indians (MI). He scored 104 runs off 51 balls. However, his innings went in vain as KKR lost that match. Iyer became the second batsman after Brendon McCullum to score a century for KKR. McCullum scored a historic knock of 158 not out in the very first match in the history of IPL.

History made by Yashasvi Jaiswal

Rajasthan Royals (RR)’s young and talented batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal has performed brilliantly this season. The RR opener scored a memorable knock of 124 off 62 balls against MI at their home ground. This is the highest individual score by an uncapped player in IPL. Jaiswal became the youngest centurion for RR at the age of 21 years and 123 days.

Prabhasimran scored a century against DC

Punjab Kings (PBKS) opener Prabhasimran Singh scored a brilliant century against Delhi Capitals (DC) in the 59th match of the league. He reached his hundred in 61 balls. He managed to score 103 runs off 65 balls. He hit 10 fours and 6 sixes in this century and became the sixth youngest player (22 years and 276 days) to complete a century in the IPL.

Mumbai’s ‘Surya’ Talpa

Suryakumar Yadav, an aggressive middle-order batsman of Mumbai Indians, failed in the opening matches. His poor form was heavily criticized. But Surya made a brilliant comeback. He scored his maiden IPL century in the 57th match of the league against Gujarat Titans (GT). He played an unbeaten knock of 103 runs off 49 balls. His innings helped MI win the match by 27 runs.

Virat Kohli’s 2 centuries in a row

Kohli lived up to his reputation, scoring two back-to-back centuries in the team’s last two league matches. Before that, his last IPL century was in 2019. This season, he scored a brilliant knock of 100 off 63 balls against Hyderabad followed by an unbeaten 101 off 61 balls against GT. Kohli has become the third player after Shikhar Dhawan (2020) and Jos Buttler (2022) to score consecutive centuries in IPL.

Shubman Gill’s bang

Gujarat opener Shubman Gill matched Kohli’s pace to score 2 centuries in the 16th season of IPL. He scored an unbeaten 101 off 58 balls against SRH and then an unbeaten 104 off 52 balls against RCB. Apart from these centuries, Gill scored an unbeaten 94 against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG).

Cameron Green’s century saw MI slip into the playoffs

Cameron Green scored a brilliant century for Mumbai Indians in their last league match against Hyderabad to lead the team to victory. This is Green’s first T20 century. Green’s innings proved to be a boon for MI as they chased down a mammoth target of 201 runs. He scored an unbeaten 100 off 47 balls. Green became the sixth batsman to score a century for MI.

For Latest Updates! Read Bombay Today

Similar Posts