Vidhan Parishad by-election: Jagdish Shettar along with all three unopposed leader

1 minute, 3 seconds Read
Spread the love


Bangalore, Udari News Service : The three Congress candidates who filed for the Vidhan Parishad by-election were elected unopposed on Friday. Senior leaders Former Chief Minister Jagdish Shettar, Tippanappa Kamaknoor and NS Bosaraju have been elected unopposed.

Last date for withdrawal of applications was Friday (23rd). But not a single application was submitted on behalf of BJP and Nidharmi Janata Dal. So there were only Congress candidates in the election fray. He has been elected unopposed.

When the BJP government was in power, former Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Sawadi, Vidhan Parishad by-elections: Baburao Chinchansur and R. Shankar had resigned. Therefore, the by-election was to be held on June 30. But as none of the candidates except the Congress filed their application, all the three candidates of the Congress were elected unopposed.

Assembly Secretary and Election Officer MK Vishalakshi announced this result. Former Chief Minister Jagdish Shettar has been elected in place of former Chief Minister Laxman Savadi. Minister SN Bosaraju has been elected to replace R. Shankar with Tippanappa Kamkanur and Baburao Chinchansoor for one year only. Chinchansur’s tenure was till 17th June 2024, R. Shankar’s till 30th June 2026 and Laxman Savadi till 14th June 2028. The term of new members will also be the same.

For Latest Updates! Read Bombay Today

Similar Posts